The IrFUW Council is the governing body of the IrFUW and is made up of the IrFUW President, her Vice President Secretary, Treasurer, the Correspondent for International Relations (CIR) and the Correspondent for European Relations (CER) . These Officials are elected at the Triennial General Meeting (TGM) and are nominated from the Associations on a rota basis which ensures that all Officers represent the interests of the wide range of Federation members. The University Associations President and Secretaries are also voting members of Council. Larger Associations may qualify for another voting delegate by virtue of the numbers in their membership.

The Council serves as the executive body of the Triennial General Meeting (TGM) and has the special duty of ensuring that the purpose and principles of the IrFUW are duly observed. The Council has the power between Triennial General Meetings to take all decisions necessary to the activities of the IrFUW.  All such decisions are shall be reported to the TGM.  The Council meets a minimum of three times per year.

At the Council meetings , which are open to all members of the IrFUW, reports are received from the Associations and from representatives of the other IrFUW activities such as the Public Speaking Competition, Advocacy, European and International developments and Communication such as the Newsletter and the Web. The Officers are responsible for ensuring that the decisions of Council are carried out. The minutes of the Council meetings are available to all members and are posted in the Members section of the Web.

Current Officers of IrFUW may be contacted through

Members can access more details in the Members Area:

Members Area/ Other

IFUW Council Officers 2019-2022

President: Frances Patton (UCDWGA)

Vice President: Maire O’Connell (GUWGA)

Past President: Mary C Morrissey (TWG)

Secretary : Elizabeth Dowling

Linked Members Liaison:Heather Elliott

Treasurer: Anita Begley

C.E.R.: Leighanne Montgomery

C.I.R.: Grace O’Mally

Public Speaking Competition: Annette Durkan (UCDWGA)

Newsletter: Leighanne Montgomery & Aoife Price

Webmaster: Heather Elliott ( Linked Member)

National Women’s Council of Ireland: Nuala Ryan (UCDWGA)

Womens Forum (N.I):  Paddy Skates (QWGA)


Queens Women Graduates

President: Isobel Benson

Vice President: Leighanne Montgomery

Secretary: Claire-Louise Wilkinson

Treasurer: Carolyn Forster

Public Speaking: Anne Hunter

C.I.R: Deirdre McCauley

C.E.R.: Oonagh Ferrity

Trinity Women’s Graduates 

President: Angie Mezzetti

Vice President: Maedhbh Hand

Secretary :Laura Fryday

Treasurer: Patricia Golden

Public Speaking: Madeline Nesbitt

Membership Secretary: Margaret Roche

CIR/CER: Martina Mulrine

University College Dublin Women Graduates Association       

President: Niamh Hynes

Vice President:

Secretary: Bernadette Doyle

Treasurer: Brid Doyle

Public Speaking: Annette Durkan


University College Galway Women Graduates Association

President: Marie Flatley

Vice President: Kit Brennan

Secretary: Jean Corbett

Assistant Secretary: Marie Mohan

Treasurer: Ann Glynn

Public Speaking: Margaret O’Dwyer

C.I.R./C.E.R.: Maire O’Connell